A festival favorite, highlights of the lab include an opening session with the host
followed by a live table read of their latest work.


The Screenwriters Lab returns to SVFF 2017 with writer/producer Chris Moore to judge the Lab’s annual screenwriting contest, The High Scribe.  An Emmy nominated Executive Producer of Project Greenlight and The Chair, Chris has produced box office sensations including Good Will Hunting, the American Pie anthology, and the critically acclaimed forthcoming film Manchester by the Sea.

Past hosts and mentors have included Academy Award winner Stephen Gaghan [Traffic], Academy Award winner David Seidler [The King’s Speech], Academy Award winners Nat Faxon and Jim Rash [The Descendants], Academy Award nominees Melisa Wallack and Craig Borten [Dallas Buyers Club], Will McCormack [Toy Story 4] and filmmaking legend Mark Duplass [Togetherness]. During the Screenwriters Lab these dynamos discuss their careers, present their latest work during a live table read, and take questions from the audience.

The Screenwriters Lab is highlighted by the High Scribe Competition which provides an opportunity for finalists to receive one-on-one meetings with some of the industry’s finest to discuss their work. The High Scribe winner is announced during the lab and a scene from their script is brought to life with professional actors. The Screenwriters Lab is a high-profile event for seasoned professionals, aspiring writers and film fans alike that draws crowds, generates buzz and has directly led to employment and representation opportunities every year.



The top three High Scribe finalists will enjoy exclusive residency at the SVFF where they are housed and mentored by established screenwriters, included in parties, and provided a Filmmaker's Pass to the Festival. The High Scribe winner receives a cash prize of $1,000 and invaluable career mentoring from top industry experts.




  • All submissions must be accompanied by a logline and a non-refundable entry fee.
  • Artistic statements, resumes and bios are also welcome but not required.
  • Applicants must submit ONE (1) copy of their screenplay or PDF file. (Please submit entire script)
  • Multiple entries are permissible, but each entry must be accompanied by a separate entry and fee.
  • Submissions will not be returned.
  • All fees are nonrefundable.
  • All works must be original and unproduced as of January 1st, 2017
  • Finalists will be notified by February 17th


Earlybird deadline: November 10th, 2016 Regular deadline: December 8th, 2016 Late deadline: January 5th, 2017 Extended Late deadline: January 7th, 2017

* Filmakers are encouraged to submit as early as possible.

Questions? Contact us at